Canadian Football Team

Local football teams learned of their new districts and classifications after the Oklahoma Secondary Schools Activities Association’s approval for each class in the state for the academic years of 2020-2021 and 2021-2022.

Canadian will see the most notable change in a transition to 11-man football for the 2020 season.

After the initial release of the districts, Canadian Public Schools Superintendent Michael Broyles said the school appealed its placement into an 11-man district in the hopes of remaining in 8-man.

Canadian is coming off its most successful season in program history after winning the District B-5 championship in its first-ever undefeated regular season. The Cougars finished with a 12-1 record and had several players and coaches received postseason awards.

Broyles confirmed to the McAlester News-Capital that Canadian filed an appeal, but the appeal was denied on Dec. 7.

“We’re a growing district,” Broyles said. “It’s going to be challenging, but we’re going to meet it head-on.”

McAlester remains in 5A-3, but will see three new teams in the district. East Central in Tulsa, Shawnee, and Will Rogers will now join the Buffs in the 2020. These new opponents replace Glenpool, Hale, and long-time rival Ada, as the Cougars see a drop to 4A.

Battle of Gowen Mountain foes Wilburton and Hartshorne remain in 2A-6, where they are joined by newcomer Idabel, replacing Heavener.

The Savanna Bulldogs move to District A-7 as Canadian moved into their previous slot in A-8, while the Quinton Savages return to OSSAA district play, taking over Canadian’s previous spot in B-5.

District  A-8


Central Sallisaw




Porter Consolidated